Practical Exam Centre Codes

Mail Print

A school or private studio enrolling candidates for a total examining time of three hours or more in a particular subject, during published session dates, can apply to host Practical exams and this should be indicated on the enrolment form. If you wish to host Practical exams outside the published session dates, please contact us before enrolling candidates to discuss your preferred dates so that we can check examiner availability.

One of the following Examination Centres must be nominated on the enrolment form, unless an alternative venue has been arranged.


Melbourne Metropolitan Practical Examinations

When enrolling via AMEB Connect, candidates for Melbourne have two options available from the ‘Preferred Venue’ drop-down list: ‘AMEB Studios’ (in Hawthorn) OR ‘Enter a venue number’. If ‘Enter a venue number’ is selected an AMEB Victoria Centre Code is required. Schools and studios with their own venue number should enter it here. If you have permission for your candidates to be examined at a private school or studio enter the appropriate number here. Only the school/studio owner can provide you with their venue number.


Victorian Country Practical Examinations

Special subjects are available in Country Victoria by special arrangement. Examinations for Associate and Licentiate diplomas are available in Melbourne only. In the 2nd Country Instrumental Session, Instrumental, Singing and Speech examinations are available in Ballarat, Bendigo, Geelong, Sale, Shepparton, Warragul and Wodonga only. Piano examinations will be available at all centres in the 1st Country session and the 2nd Country Piano session.


421    Ballarat
455    Bendigo
572    Geelong


414    Bairnsdale
514    Cowes
642    Korumburra
659    Leongatha
752    Orbost
811    Sale
870    Traralgon
898    Warragul
924    Wonthaggi
939    Yarram

North East

502    Cobram
647    Kyabram
829    Shepparton
886    Wangaratta
919    Wodonga/Albury


North West
490    Castlemaine
504    Cohuna
547    Echuca
632    Kerang
649    Kyneton
692    Mildura
846    Swan Hill
927    Woodend


465    Berwick*
516    Dandenong*
725    Mt Eliza/Frankston*


* Candidates enrolled in Country Practical sessions at Dandenong and Mt Eliza/Frankston may be scheduled for examination at the AMEB Studios in Hawthorn if the number of enrolments exceeds the capacity of these centres.


West & Wimmera

406    Ararat
506    Colac
592    Hamilton
614    Horsham
774    Portland
838    Stawell
858    Terang
906    Warrnambool